Frocktober: The swinging sixties and a yellow shift

I promised some frock-related posts this month, and they’re on their way!

First up is my favourite dress, my yellow shift dress. It’s a vintage Sandra Terry Australian made one, bought off my darling friend Anna! Shift dresses were first made popular in the 1960s, when clothing manufacturing became cheaper and skirt lengths became shorter. Shift dresses are no fuss and super flattering 🙂

Image

Yellow Shift Dress photo by Jaclyn Rogerson

 

Bold Mondrian graphics, black and white, op art, psychedelia, space-age looks- the 1960s is definitely my favourite era of clothing!

Image

Audrey Hepburn in Space Age

  • Biba Fashion House: When I was in London I visited Brighton when they were having the Biba retrospective exhibition on at Brighton Museum and Art Gallery. Although I couldn’t afford to go in, there was amazing retro memorabilia of the fashion house for sale, and I bought my sister a compact mirror from there (ah, museum shops are always so good!).
  • Mary Quant was another fashion pioneer who made shift dresses popular.
Image

Mary Quant Mini-skirt

Image

Mary Quant 1960s

  • I remember looking at photos of Jean Shrimpton in high school (when I was fascinated by retro fashion) and thinking she was the most beautiful person in the world. And brave for going to the Melbourne Cup without a hat, gloves and rocking a mini-skirt. How fab!

Image

Jean Shrimpton with shocked onlookers!

  • And what would a post about 1960s fashion be without photos of Twiggy ?

Image

Image

For the rest of October I’m raising money to donate to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund. You can donate here to my campaign as part of Frocktober. Thank you in advance. xo

Replies?

