Rag Rug Making

Rag Rug

Rag Rug

It has been awhile since I’ve posted an update on crafts or projects I’m doing. Rug making has been the latest project: I was totally inspired by this rug from Rachel of Smile and Wave to make my own after seeing her beautiful rag rug. You can find her tutorial here.

Rachel's Rug

Rachel’s Rug

The first step was the loom. It was pretty easy to make, especially since I live a block away from a major hardware store. Surprisingly, the wood only cost me 6 dollars and the nails were cheap too. I couldn’t find my floral hammer so I had to buy a new one. My new hammer is definitely man size!

My loom

My loom

To make the loom you you basically hammer your wood together depending on the shape of your desired rug, and then hammer nails in along the short edge an equally measured distance apart. Voila. Loom made! Although my rugs are quite small, to make a bigger rug like Rachel’s I would have to sew maybe five or six of my rugs together (and weaving alone on one of my rugs took 3-4 hours of solid RSI).

For the weaving part I used Hoooked Zpagetti cotton and though it is expensive for a roll, I am happy to pay as it’s offcuts that would otherwise be added to landfill and it’s got a nice stretch. Along with this I teared up a white cotton sheet I found at an opshop and bought some black lycra (super stretchy!).

I’ve made two rugs now, slightly different from each other. The common theme between them is that they are super skinny in the middle. I need to try and rectify this problem somehow, either by putting nails along the long edge of my loom and weaving around them also, or not creating too much tension in the material early on in weaving.

That being said, I’m pretty happy with them! And they look lovely as bedside mats.

The best part about this project is the fact that you can weave while watching tv shows or movies.

I finished weaving and then did some sewing over the top for reinforcement (especially on the sides and middle parts with looser weaves), all the while watching Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo. Anything for procrastination, solitude and ‘me’ time. Rug weaving is so therapeutic!

Let me know if you want to try it, you’re more than welcome to borrow my loom 🙂

Laura

Finished

Finished! Rag rug number one.

Black and White Rag Rug

Black and White Rag Rug with looser weaves

Rag Rug with Hoooked Zpagetti

Rag Rug with Hoooked Zpagetti

Replies?

