To Read

Hello there kiddlywinks.

Inspired by this blog, I’ve decided to write down a list of books I intend on reading between now and September 2013.

1.

I plan to finish Cloud Atlas. D bought this for me for our one year anniversary this weekend just passed. I’ve finished the first part of the book, eager to read the next bit! There is a movie out so I MUST finish it before I watch the movie.

2.

Caitlin Moran is one of the funnies female writers. I love her dry british sense of humour. I’m really looking forward to this book for the laughs.

3.

EEEH so excited to read Zadie Smith’s newest. Her last novel, On Beauty is one of my all-time favourites, not as critically acclaimed as her first novel, White Teeth but somehow more enjoyable for me. Perhaps I’ll have to give it another go when I’ve got the right headspace. Anyway, here’s hoping N-W  topples On Beauty.

4.

Fear of Flying by Erica Jong was recommended to me by my good friend Ruby. Ruby has started a book club for local women to get together to discuss feminist/gender texts and novels. She had to read this book as part of her course work in gender studies, and I love how all her notes for class are written throughout her copy of the book.

5.

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. I first read his famous novel The Virgin Suicides when I was 15, travelling Japan with my family. I think TVS really resonated with me as a teenage girl. I felt like I could relate to the characters stifling lives.

What is on your reading list? Do you have any suggestions for me to add to this list?

xo L

4 comments
  1. What a great list! I haven’t read anything by Caitlin Moran but I’ve heard fantastic things. I have one of her books on my amazon book wishlist. I think I’ll be adding Fear of Flying to that list as well. Yay books! 🙂

    • L said:

      I can recommend ‘How to be a woman’- it made me laugh so much! Let me know what you think of Fear of Flying when you finish it 🙂 xo

  2. I’ve never heard of any of these 🙂 I want to read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I’m finishing the last book of Fifty Shades of Grey. Haha. ♥Lindsay

    • L said:

      I’ve never heard of Gone Girl before, if you do read it send me a link I’d love to know what you think of it and if you recommend it. xo 🙂

Replies?

